Happy Fourth!

Standard

Grilling is a Fourth of July tradition in most families and social circles. Understandably so – grilling keeps the kitchen cool and allows the cook to stay outside where the action is. By now, most vegetarians and vegans have discovered the vast array of packaged products available for grilling: vegetarian burgers, hot dogs, kabobs, etc. These are great options, but if you grill as often as I do in the summer, you might be getting sick of your usual standbys. Or, for you omnivores out there, you might buy into the commonly held belief that meat substitutes taste awful. Perhaps I can persuade you to try something new! 

Pizza seems to be the hot new thing for grilling, and if you’re vegan or lactose intolerant, you might feel a bit left out. No more! I offer you this recipe for delicious grilled flatbreads with a GREAT cheezy spread

Disclaimer: I did not actually make the flatbreads myself. I didn’t trust my bread-making skills and I also didn’t feel like grilling (which sort of defeats the purpose of this post, I am aware). The good news is that for those of you without grills or without the will to grill, I can propose some alternatives. I used some garlic naan bread I bought at Whole Foods and popped in the toaster, which turned out pretty well. I’d recommend using the non-garlic kind though if you’re going that route, because there’s garlic in the spread and it got a little overwhelming. 

Image
My version of the recipe

If you’re watching your calories, I’d recommend putting the spread on a low-cal wrap and rolling up the greens and any veggies of your choice. You can also probably skip the oil on the greens and just use the lemon. I haven’t tried it yet, but the spread yielded more than I expected, so I may do that later in the week. If you give it a try, let me know how it goes! 

Are you planning on grilling out today? What are you cooking up? 

Leave a Reply

